

# 工 മ ≶ ス $\Theta$ S D

C

extraordinary meeting minutes

date of meeting: 21 September 2010

location: council chambers

time: 6:30 p.m.

MINUTES: 21 September 2010

# **MINUTES**

- WELCOME / EXPLANATIONS
- APOLOGIES
- DECLARATION OF INTERESTS
- AGENDA ITEMS SUBJECT TO PUBLIC ADDRESS
- SECTION 4 Reports for Determination

**General Manager** 

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING
MINUTES: 21 September 2010

MINUTES: 21 September 2010

# **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

ITEM	SUBJECT	PAGE
SECTION 4	- Reports for Determination	5
GENERAL N	MANAGER	5
Item: 219	GM - Election of Mayor - (79351, 95496)	5
Item: 220	GM - Election of Deputy Mayor - (79351, 95496)	7
Item: 221	GM - Appointment of Committees, Delegates and Representatives - (79351, 95496)	8
Item: 222	GM - Various Committees - Annual Reports - (79351, 95496)	9

MINUTES: 21 September 2010

Minutes of the ExtraOrdinary Meeting held at the Council Chambers, Windsor, on Tuesday, 21 September 2010, commencing at 6.30pm.

#### **ATTENDANCE**

**PRESENT:** Councillor B Bassett, Mayor, Councillor K Conolly, Deputy Mayor and Councillors B Calvert, K Ford, W Mackay, C Paine, B Porter, P Rasmussen, J Reardon, T Tree, W Whelan and L Williams.

**ALSO PRESENT:** General Manager - Peter Jackson, Director City Planning - Matt Owens, Director Infrastructure Services - Chris Daley, Director Support Services - Laurie Mifsud, Manager Corporate Services and Governance - Fausto Sut, Executive Manager - Community Partnerships - Joseph Litwin and Administrative Support Team Leader - Amy Dutch.

Councillor Williams arrived at the meeting at 6.32pm. Councillor Mackay arrived at the meeting at 6.39pm.

Meeting Date: 21 September 2010

## **SECTION 4 - Reports for Determination**

## **GENERAL MANAGER**

Item: 219 GM - Election of Mayor - (79351, 95496)

Mr Doug Bathersby, proponent, addressed Council.

The General Manager, Mr Peter Jackson, in accordance with provisions of Clause 1 of Schedule 7 of the Local Government (General Regulation) 2005 acted as Returning Officer for the election of Mayor.

#### **MOTION:**

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillor Reardon, seconded by Councillor Tree.

#### Refer to RESOLUTION

#### 341 RESOLUTION:

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillor Reardon, seconded by Councillor Tree.

That the election for the position of Mayor of the City of Hawkesbury for the 2010/2011 Mayoral Term be carried out.

The Returning Officer, Mr Peter Jackson, advised that he had received two valid nominations for the position of Mayor, being:

Councillor Bassett Nominated by Councillor Reardon

Seconded by Councillor Whelan

Councillor Rasmussen Nominated by Councillor Williams

Seconded by Councillor Calvert

## MOTION:

A MOTION was moved by Councillor Paine, seconded by Councillor Rasmussen.

That the election for the position of Mayor of the City of Hawkesbury for the 2010/2011 Mayoral Term be carried out by ordinary ballot.

The motion was lost.

Meeting Date: 21 September 2010

A FORESHADOWED motion was moved by Councillor Reardon, seconded by Councillor Tree.

#### Refer to RESOLUTION

#### 342 RESOLUTION:

RESOLVED on the FORESHADOWED motion of Councillor Reardon, seconded by Councillor Tree.

That the election for the position of Mayor of the City of Hawkesbury for the 2010/2011 Mayoral Term be carried out by open voting.

The Returning Officer then conducted a ballot by open voting resulting in the candidates receiving the following votes:

Councillor Bassett 8 votes Councillor Rasmussen 4 votes

The Returning Officer declared Councillor Bassett elected as Mayor of the City of Hawkesbury for the 2010/2011 Mayoral Term.

Councillor Bassett assumed the Chair as Mayor.

Meeting Date: 21 September 2010

Item: 220 GM - Election of Deputy Mayor - (79351, 95496)

The General Manager, Mr Peter Jackson, in accordance with provisions of Clause 1 of Schedule 7 of the Local Government (General Regulation) 2005 acted as Returning Officer for the election of Deputy Mayor.

#### MOTION:

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillor Bassett, seconded by Councillor Reardon.

#### Refer to RESOLUTION

### 343 RESOLUTION:

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillor Bassett, seconded by Councillor Reardon.

That the election for the position of Deputy Mayor of the City of Hawkesbury for the 2010/2011 Mayoral Term be carried out.

The Returning Officer, Mr Peter Jackson, advised that he had received two valid nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor, being:

Councillor Conolly Nominated by Councillor Whelan

Seconded by Councillor Reardon

Councillor Paine Nominated by Councillor Williams

Seconded by Councillor Porter

## MOTION:

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillor Bassett, seconded by Councillor Whelan.

#### Refer to RESOLUTION

### 344 RESOLUTION:

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillor Bassett, seconded by Councillor Whelan.

That the election for the position of Deputy Mayor of the City of Hawkesbury for the 2010/2011 Mayoral Term be carried out by open voting.

The Returning Officer then conducted a ballot by open voting resulting in the candidates receiving the following votes:

Councillor Conolly 7 votes Councillor Paine 5 votes

The Returning Officer declared Councillor Conolly elected as Deputy Mayor of the City of Hawkesbury for the 2010/2011 Mayoral Term.

Meeting Date: 21 September 2010

Item: 221 GM - Appointment of Committees, Delegates and Representatives - (79351,

95496)

#### **MOTION:**

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillor Conolly, seconded by Councillor Tree.

#### Refer to RESOLUTION

#### 345 RESOLUTION:

RESOLVED on the motion of Councillor Conolly, seconded by Councillor Tree.

#### That:

- 1. The Council Committees, Delegates and Representatives for the coming year remain as for the 2009/2010 year, other than for the following amendments:
  - a) The Three Towns (and Agnes Banks) Sewerage Committee be discontinued.
  - b) The vacancy on the Community Planning Advisory Committee be filled by Councillor Ford.
  - The vacancy on the Hawkesbury Civics and Citizenship Committee be filled by Councillor Conolly.
  - d) The vacancy on the Hawkesbury Macquarie 2010 Committee not be filled.
  - e) The positions on the Disability Advisory Committee be filled by Councillor Paine and Councillor Whelan.
  - f) Councillor Paine be appointed as Council's representative to Westpool.
  - g) Councillor Rasmussen be appointed as Council's representative to Western Sydney Academy of Sport.
  - h) Councillor Calvert be appointed as Council's representative to Western Sydney Area Assistance Scheme Local Ranking Committee in place of Councillor Tree.
  - i) Councillor Ford be appointed as Council's alternate representative to the Audit Committee.
  - j) Councillor Paine be appointed as Council's alternate representative to the Hawkesbury Mobility Plan Implementation Committee.
- 2. A report be brought to Council regarding the holding of the Public Libraries NSW Metropolitan Association Committee meetings.

Meeting Date: 21 September 2010

	Item: 222 GM - Various Committees - Annual Reports - (79351, 95496)
	MOTION:
	RESOLVED on the motion of Councillor Williams, seconded by Councillor Paine.
	Refer to RESOLUTION
346	RESOLUTION:
	RESOLVED on the motion of Councillor Williams, seconded by Councillor Paine.
	That the contents of the report and the annual reports of the various Council Committees for the 2009/2010 Mayoral Term as detailed in the report be received.
	The meeting terminated at 6.58pm.
	Submitted to and confirmed at the Ordinary meeting held on 28 September 2010.
	Mayor