Sorry Day gathering

The Hawkesbury community, including the local Aboriginal community and Hawkesbury City Council, recently gathered for Sorry Day on Friday, 25 May 2018 at Macquarie Park, Windsor.

The Mayor of Hawkesbury, Councillor Mary Lyons-Buckett also attended.

“The first National Sorry Day was held twenty years ago on May 26, 1998, which was one year after the tabling of a Human Rights Commission report about the removal of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children from their families,” the Mayor said.

“While the 1997 Human Rights Commission report ‘Bringing Them Home’ recommended that a national day of observance be declared, we all still have work to do in order to fulfil the Report’s many other recommendations.

“2018 marks ten years since our nation heard the then Prime Minister say sorry, to apologise on behalf of Australia, to our Aboriginal people for the effect that colonisation and dispossession had on Australia’s First People and all of their generations,” she said.

“Over the years it has been recognised that it is not just what we say, but what we do, that counts. That is why we are developing a Reconciliation Action Plan.

“We acknowledge the broader struggles, mistreatment and efforts of generations of Indigenous Australians,” Councillor Lyons-Buckett said.

“We cannot undo the past but we can change the future. That is why Council will continue to listen to the Aboriginal members of our community and to be guided in what we need to do both now and in the future.

“Sorry Day is a chance to bring us all together, as the Hawkesbury community, and as part of the wider Australian community.

“We also acknowledge and celebrate your unique and diverse Aboriginal culture which is alive today, and I’m proud to see us working together.”

The Aboriginal and the Torres Strait Islander flags fly permanently outside Council’s Administration Building in Windsor and they flags are also displayed inside the Council Chambers at all times as a mark of respect and recognition. Council also has signage throughout the Hawkesbury Local Government Area acknowledging the Darug people as the traditional custodians of this land.

Page ID: 111016