Australia Day Awards

Nominate a mate for the 2025 Australia Day Awards - Click here

2024 Hawkesbury Citizen of the Year - Keith Acton

Keith has volunteered in the local Macdonald Valley / Wisemans Ferry community for the past 17 years. Keith has been a member of the Wisemans Ferry RFS since 2007 and joined the Lower MacDonald RFS in 2015. He is a joint member of both brigades and is the President and Equipment Office of the Lower MacDonald RFS. Keith is also officially employed 1 day per week at Wisemans Ferry Public School as a Grounds and Maintenance since 2015, however you will see Keith at the school most days volunteering his time to complete the tasks that cannot be completed within his 1 day per week employment. He is also always available to assist with extra activities like Father’s Day Breakfast BBQs, Grandparent Days, School fetes and even attending school on Sundays to put out the garbage bins for collection.

Keith has also volunteered his time to assist with the organisation and operation of Wisemans Ferry ANZAC day services and marches and now holds the official title of Vice President of the ANZAC Day committee. Keith also volunteers his time to assist elderly and less able community members with anything from lawn mowing, garden maintenance, general maintenance, dog minding and social and emotional supports.

During the recent floods, Keith worked together with the NSW RFS and NSW SES to coordinate and assist with food deliveries, hay and animal food deliveries, fuel deliveries, removing horses from paddocks inundated with flood waters and most importantly emotional support to people in the community.

2024 Hawkesbury Australia Day Award Recipients

  • Keith Acton – Citizen of the Year
  • Gemma King – Young Citizen of the Year
  • Scott Hinks, Rochelle Miller – Local Hero Award
  • Kurrajong Nursing Home Auxiliary – Community Organisation of the Year
  • Melissa Crane – Sportsperson of the Year
  • Windsor High School Thursday Lunchtime Interest Group – Arts and Culture Award

Find out more here about our 2024 Australia Day Award Recipients  - Click here

Page ID: 158634

Dark mode
High contrast